Tucker, GA – The SIAC Football Coaches Association has voted and is proud to announce the 2007 Preseason All Conference Football Team and Predicted Order of Finish. Highlighting the list are 29 returning players including all but two first team honorees. Albany State was selected as the favorite to win the Conference Title for the fifth consecutive year.

Sherard Ellis, a junior QB for Lane College leads a list of nine Dragons named to the list including five who were named to the 1st team. Tuskegee University the conference finished a close second with eight players named to the list.

The preseason team 1st team offense is comprised all of returning players including Sherard Ellis (JR/QB, Lane), Elijah Clark (SR/RB, Benedict), Virgil Union (SR/WR, Lane), Jerome Bryant (SR/WR, Kentucky State), Earnest Everett (JR/TE, Morehouse) and Anthony Driver (SR/OL, Tuskegee).

For the defense, Curtis Johnson (SR/DL, Clark Atlanta) and Michael Porter (SR/LB, Clark Atlanta) who helped lead the efforts for the #1 defense in the NCAA, anchors the all conference team. The SIAC tackle leader from 2006 Ivan Diggs (SR/DB, Fort Valley State) leads the all conference defensive back core with Carl Spellman (SR, Benedict), Denatay Heard (SR, Stillman) and Harvey Scott (SR, Lane)

The second team offense is comprised of impact players including Charles McCullum (SR/QB, Stillman), Richard Fitzhugh (SR/RB, Tuskegee) and Ed Williams (SR/WR, Lane). For the defense, impact players include Jonathan Hall (SO/LB, Tuskegee), Anthony Richardson (SR/DL, Kentucky State), Terrance Stringer (SR/DB, Tuskegee) and Deaveon McCord (SR/DB, Stillman).

Albany State was chosen as the favorite for the SIAC title followed by Tuskegee University, Fort Valley State University, Clark Atlanta University and Lane College.


1. Albany State University
2. Tuskegee University
3. Fort Valley State University
4. Clark Atlanta University
5. Lane College
6. Kentucky State University
7. Stillman College
8. Miles College
9. Benedict College
10. Morehouse College


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here