Yates Trial Begins...

I am not an expert on mental illness. But I know enough from some reading, TV programs and a few up close observations to know that mental illness is a problem. Unfortunately it is one that this country does not take seriously at all.

Had Andrea Yates been acquitted, she would have gone to a mental institution probably for the rest of her life. The defense lawyers, prosecution, psychiatrist, and the judge would have to agree to have her released. With the way that she is, she probably would have probably not been released.

Consider this. The husband could be tried for reckless endangerment of a child. (This is not from me talking but some lawyers.) He knew that his wife had problems but at best (for his sake) must not have understood how bad it was. He had taken her to a doctor. She tried to commit suicide more than once two years before killing her kids. Yet, if my information is correct, he took her out of treatment. He left the kids alone with her. Whether or not he will be charged is up to the DA's office. Despite my feeling about him, I would like to here his side.

Also, if my information is correct, a doctor stopped giving her the much-needed medicine. If so he (or she) could be sued. Trust me. When a psychiatrist makes a mistake like that, I will bet that people will stop sending their friends and relatives to him (or her). I wonder if that doctor recommended that Yates be sent to an institution. If they did not, then he or she is finished. I would like to know that doctor's name because I will trust a rattlesnake before trusting them. Their career is basically finished. The doctor might as well find another line of work.